Scooby-doo 20-Dec-16
bas4109 22-Dec-16
bow shot 11-Jan-17
pogo 12-Jan-17
spike78 12-Jan-17
pogo 12-Jan-17
bow shot 13-Jan-17
26-Sep-16
The 2016 Hunting Season might be my last.... and if so, I'm ready to make this the best hunting season ever. At 66 years old, I don't take anything for granted.

Each year I've tried to share my thoughts, my hunts and my experience with my Bowsite friends to try to help you become a better hunter.... not because I'm an expert hunter. I am not!

I'm just an old guy that has enjoyed being in a tree stand for the past forty years. I've had more failures than success but you can still learn from my experience, good or bad.

If you remember.... last season I felt it was one of my best seasons ever... and I did not put my tag on a deer. But my definition of success is not measured by killing a deer. I passed on a decent eight pointer early in the season while waiting for the big nine or the ten pointer that was at the top of my hit list. I saw some great sunrises and had several encounters with good bucks but things just didn't work out.

I didn't spend as much time at the farm this off season as I feel that I know enough about where the deer like to bed, eat and travel so I didn't have to stink up the place with extra scouting.

I didn't put up any trail cameras until September second and I have gotten pictures of three possible shooters. However I still haven't got a good picture of Mr. Big yet. The only picture I have of him is a ghost like image of him coming through the oaks on one evening at around 9:45pm and it wasn't worthy of sharing. It shows ten solid points with good tine length and the picture has made him my number one shooter. I believe him to be at least five and a half years old and in his prime!

I have four ladder stands positioned in good locations on the farm, adding two towards the end of last season that I haven't hunted out of yet.