Brian M. 10-Oct-16
bigbuckbob 11-Oct-16
N8tureBoy 11-Oct-16
Richm444 12-Oct-16
Will 12-Oct-16
soapdish 12-Oct-16
Toonces 17-Oct-16
07-Oct-16
Just wondering, what do you do to give thanks to the animal you have taken?

As a self taught hunter, it took me years before I was finally able to shoot my first deer and I remember the flood or emotions it evoked. Rejoice, remorse, disbelief and extreme thanks, to name a few. I wanted to do something to thank the deer and let it know that it would not go to waste. I recalled reading about a German tradition in which the hunter puts a sprig of evergreen in the mouth of the deer as a way of showing respect, so I did that as I thanked it. I think the tradition literally means "last bite."

After I settled down a bit, my thoughts quickly turned to "now what? and "how the heck do I get this back to the car?"...

With each deer I have been fortunate to get after that one, I continue to show my appreciation and give thanks. Can't say this is something I have ever seen on any of the weekend hunting shows though :) Am I alone in this? And is anyone else aware of any other traditions?

08-Oct-16
If that makes you feel good, have at it.

With all respect to the OP....

I don't "thank" the deer, nor do I "respect" the deer. IMO, this isn't about the deer...

My first thought when I kill a deer is "thank you God for a clean kill".

That's my "thanks".

08-Oct-16
All of the above...its all perspective.. I can tell you I've never said smoked him,danced around the animal,given high 5's (kinda hard by myself)shaken so hard that it looks like I'm in hyperthermic shock knocking loose the fillings from the 3teeth in my f@*kin head or had a big boobied bimbo in a blind with me..a