smokey 17-Feb-17
Todd108 18-Feb-17
JRW 21-Feb-17
Cedar swamp 21-Feb-17
Reggiezpop 21-Feb-17
Tweed 21-Mar-17
Tweed 21-Mar-17
15-Feb-17
Purchased a small parcel of land (25 acres). Cedar swamp, hardwoods and various pine species (northern Shawano County). I am doing some research on types of food plots that would work in the woods. I don't have large areas to accomplish this. Looking at small areas, 100 sq feet or so?

So I don't have to "re-invent the wheel", does anyone have any helpful tidbits of information on the type of seed used that worked for them? How the plots themselves did? How they actually accomplished it? I don't the resources (both monetary and machine wise) to do larger plots. Just looking for some advice as I have never done this before because I never owned my own land.

Have read where folks spray round up, cultivate/use a rototiller, broadcast fertilizer and seed and hope for the best. Would a guy have to put some sort of fencing up around it to protect the plant during their early growing periods? Is this the normal practice? Anyone have any advice on the type of plant that might work well? Thanks in advance!

16-Feb-17

happygolucky's embedded Photo
The basics
The basics

happygolucky's Link
I created one in the woods last year by dropping some trees, raking it up manually, putting down over 400#s of lime and 150#s of 19/19/19. I broadcast Grandpa Rays' Soil Builder mix. He's a sponsor here and he's a wealth of knowledge on the topic. I did this in May and it grew amazing. The deer were in it all spring and summer.

This was done with a small push spreader, hand spreader, chain saw, and a rake. My cultipacker was me and my son walking over it after we planted it. No soil sample. Area gets fair sun only. I will be opening it up more this year. Had to start somewhere. This is in wetter crappy cedars.

I then broadcast in GR's Fall Draw in late August and had deer (and a bear) in there all fall.

16-Feb-17