HerdManager 30-May-17
Bourbonator 01-Jun-17
HerdManager 02-Jun-17
RC 02-Jun-17
Red Beastmaster 02-Jun-17
27-Feb-17

HerdManager's embedded Photo
HerdManager's embedded Photo
I was on vacation last week with my girlfriend down in Riviera Maya, Mexico. The resort had an "archery range", so we went and tried it out. 10-yard range. They had one bow. It was a Hoyt recurve, maybe 35-40 pounds. We shot some. Realized I've been shooting for 33 years and have never shot a recurve. It felt weird, just focusing on the target as opposed to a sight. One round I put 3 out of 4 arrows in the yellow (80 cm target), which I was pretty happy with.

27-Feb-17
Congrats Herd. You are hooked now. Wait till you kill your first deer with a stick bow. You will sell your wheel bow and never look back. I'm proud of you.. ^5

27-Feb-17
I am thinking about giving it a try. I get plenty of shots 10 yards or less, so I would think I could get good enough at close range to stick one.

27-Feb-17
Congrats Herd! Just curious..................................1st time shooting a Recurve? Had you ever shot any kind of stickbow before?

27-Feb-17
Herd, I know your are pretty much a perfectionist in the things you do, and that is fine. For the utmost accuracy from a stick bow, I'd suggest you check into an ILF bow. ILF is international limb fitting. That means all the manufactures making take down risers and limbs use a standard that every manufactures limbs will adapt to everyone else risers, etc. What that does is, you could use a set of 35 to 40 pound limbs for target practice and then use say a 50 pound set of limbs for hunting. Or hell, a 40 pound bow will kill any deer on the planet. ILF riser are also center shot and have an adapter hole to install a plunger button and a magnetic flipper rest can be installed along with the plunger button. ILF bows are about the most accurate stick bows produced.