happygolucky 02-Jun-17
happygolucky 02-Jun-17
northbound 02-Jun-17
Tweed 02-Jun-17
happygolucky 02-Jun-17
happygolucky 02-Jun-17
Bow Crazy 03-Jun-17
22-Mar-17
I have never put in a food plot and I think this will be my first year. I am totally new to this and research has been confusing. A few questions for folks smarter then me on this one. What have you had success planting? once in do you have control weeds? If so how do you spray every few weeks? What do you spray with not to kill the good stuff? How soon do you plant? Do you stagger the planting? I have selected three areas each about 1/2 acre with the land owners approval. I was thinking one plot with Biologic maximum, one plot with turnips/sugar beets and one in a clover. Any wisdom you could provide would be appreciated. As the more research I do the more confused I get and the more questions I have come up. I am sure I am not the only one with questions and I know we have a lot of experience here so I thought I would ask. Thanks Tom

22-Mar-17
Tom, if by success you are wondering what plants have grown well, I can say I have had good luck with beets, turnips, clover and a variety of different mixes. If success is what attracted deer, I'd say there is nothing better than a secluded field full of soy beans.

09-May-17
After this last weekend, I have 9 acres ready for planting. Six will be soybeans, two are alfalfa and still not sure what will go in the last acre. I sm pretty sure the deer will not eat six acres of beans so I might consider harvesting a couple acres, just to offset the cost of putting them in.

09-May-17
Agreed on the soybeans. One needs to consider what the goals are when planting. When do you want them to be ripe? Early bow season? Pre-rut? Gun season? Or are you just hoping to provide some extra food over the winter when most things have been harvested and food is scarce? Also, consider your soil needs, such as clover can help put nitrogen back in the soil, etc.

10-May-17