Crusader dad 18-Apr-17
Tweed 18-Apr-17
casekiska 18-Apr-17
Tweed 19-Apr-17
Huntcell 19-Apr-17
17-Apr-17

Tweed's embedded Photo
Tweed's embedded Photo
I've been meaning to start using a tarp more for camping, especially after this past fall it rained for a day and a half while camping early season.

Barely could have a fire and spent most of the time cooped up inside a tent.

So.... What are your favorite set ups and sizes? Advice, tips, hazards and stories welcomed.

This is my first time setting up in the back yard.

17-Apr-17
The title was supposed to be Tarp "Camp"

17-Apr-17
We have a couple of those fold up canopies. One nice one that has a mesh screen around it and one cheaper one. At 12ft by 12ft there is plenty of room underneath to hang out and still be outdoors. If we keep the fire low enough we can put the canopy over the fire to keep it from being rained out. Those Canopies are cheap and have saved us many times.

We also have a three bedroom tent so there is plenty of room if the weather does get too terrible to be out there.

18-Apr-17
Yeah....using a canopy like that is a bit much to carry into the woods. Agreed though, they sure are nice at a campground. My mom has one that she uses for dog shows.

I plan on using this, this autumn on my hike hunt. The tarp only weighs 3.5 pounds but is heavy duty and roomy which is nice in case the weather isn't nice I won't feel all claustrophobic.

I got this silly idea from seeing some 19th century hunter camps and decided to do the same. Did a little digging and it seems that there are more than a few that still use this system.

This morning was in the upper 30's but I felt plenty comfy in there by the fire.

18-Apr-17
The years I went elk hunting, we would have a 20'x20' tarp to cover the whole cooking, sitting and main camp area. The cooking table area had tarps on the back side and over the top. The hunt is better if you have a comfortable as possible area to take cover and move around when things got wet.