MNdeerslayer 26-Apr-17
orange feather 06-Jul-17
Crazy4whitetail 09-Jul-17
South Farm 03-Aug-17
MNBowAddict 04-Aug-17
26-Apr-17

MNdeerslayer's embedded Photo
MNdeerslayer's embedded Photo
I've got a 90 acre parcel in central Minnesota. This property has a 20 acre section that is swamp that holds water year around most years, there is an acre or two island in the swamp that is accessible only dry years. It also has a hay field which is also about 20 acres. The remainder of the property is long grass and groups of mature trees.

This is a decent size of land but a chunk of it is not usable due to it being a swamp. I manage to get a couple deer a year but nothing too big. I'd really like to add some cover to the hay field. I would also like to add some sources of food being the only food sources are nearby corn fields.

I am new to improving land for wildlife and would like some suggestions, open to anything.

06-Jul-17
Looks like a lot of potential. it looks like there are spots for a couple of food plots. I would make at least one of them corn. You should put up some hedge lines along the boarders, big bucks don't like being looked at.

09-Jul-17
looks like fun... I would keep all food plots on one end of property (hay field) Mix it up with Soybeans, Corn, alfalfa and rotate corn and soybeans each year. you could even play with some fall plots as well radishes, turnips, rye. Keeping your food plots in this end of property would allow you to maintain them through out the year, treating the rest of the property as a sanctuary, well until hunting season. It all depends how much time you are willing to put into it. You could plant more trees on the other high ground and red willow in the swamp areas, deer love them. Tamarac do well in swamp areas

03-Aug-17