Jimbo 22-Jun-17
alex1 22-Jun-17
Jebediah 22-Jun-17
huntskifishcook 22-Jun-17
spike78 23-Jun-17
spike78 23-Jun-17
PedalPaddleHunt 26-Jun-17
19-Jun-17
Hello everyone! I am just getting into bow hunting and would appreciate some advice. Yesterday I purchased a recurve and 5 arrows. I am happy about the purchase - it was a used but well kept 50# bear kodiak at an archery store. I mainly want to hunt small game and maybe turkey. Thinking that there are still some months until the season starts, I just want to hit the range and practice till then so that I can shoot at least somewhat consistently. I was wondering if anyone has any advice to prep for the season and if you know a good range for practice in the boston/newton area? thank you.

19-Jun-17
Hi Alex1. Welcome to the world of archery and bowhunting. Traditional gear like that is impressive stuff, hopefully Hickstick or Tajue hop on and see your post, both are very skilled in the area of trad gear.

Regrettably, I live out in central MA, I dont know anything in the Boston area... Though a bunch of the guys here should be able to offer ideas.

Enjoy getting into it, and welcome to the board. This is a cool site, even when we disagree we all keep it productive. It's a really good bunch of folks that frequent here!

19-Jun-17
Just getting into bow hunting with a 50# recurve may be tough. Not sure of your strength but I've been shooting since I was 12 and I can pull an 80# compound but a 50# recurve takes a lot of getting used to. I have a 45# recurve and it's about all I can handle. If you find it too much for you drop down to 45 or start with a compound and go from there. The reason I say this is hunting season is not too far off and you want to be accurate by then.

19-Jun-17
If you're new to hunting altogether, make sure you have the hunter safety course, need it to get a license. Good luck and have fun!

21-Jun-17