Treeline 27-Jun-17
Jaquomo 28-Jun-17
WhoCares 28-Jun-17
Glunt@work 28-Jun-17
Treeline 28-Jun-17
WhoCares 28-Jun-17
RogBow 28-Jun-17
26-Jun-17
Drew fourth season deer tag after 11 years! Unit 15. Will be once in a lifetime muley hunt given I'm considered an old timer! I'm a veteran Colorado elk bowhunter with good success. Have never hunted 15 but I'm going out in late July to recon/ scout. Obvious it will be a rifle hunt so don't have to confess! Any comments on the unit and season from bowsiters? For elk I do solo public land hunts. Have a favorite wilderness I backpack into. Been enjoying the whole month solo hunting since I retired 11 years ago. Thanks for any feedback.

27-Jun-17
Best bucks in the unit are usually in flower beds of neighborhoods

27-Jun-17
I live in 15.

4th season should be a pretty good hunt in this unit, but I have never hunted late here. I would focus on the southern part of the unit along the Colorado River for that late hunt. Would imagine most of the bucks will migrate down that way. Figure out the private/public access down in that area. There won't be many deer down there in July, but they tend to migrate down when the snow flies.

These deer are really weird up here. I live at 7200' and these deer migrate out in October. Almost like the the deer I hunt above 11,500. Guess it has to do with the higher snow fall up here in Routt County.

27-Jun-17
Study the CPW interactive map with the migration routes and the winter range. Hunt the lower end of the migration routes in 4th season.

Like Treeline, I live in a N. CO unit where the deer are GONE after about the first week of November. People draw 4th season buck tags and don't see anything because they've started moving down to the winter range. The hunters who have tags in the lower elevation units on the migration routes kill some great bucks.