drslyr 23-Sep-17
soapdish 12-Oct-17
Ace 25-Oct-17
spike78 25-Oct-17
bigbuckbob 25-Oct-17
notme 25-Oct-17
bigbuckbob 25-Oct-17
08-Sep-17
I've read a couple of posts today on FB saying there has been groups of dead deer found in the Portland/Middletown area near water sources and DEEP says it's EHD. Has anybody heard or scene anything?

08-Sep-17

rix102's embedded Photo
rix102's embedded Photo
I answered my own question. I just found this. If it's EHD that will suck.

08-Sep-17
never heard anything in past about EHD in CT, but that doesn't mean it's out of the question. Could also be someone throwing out some household chemicals and put it near/in the pond.

08-Sep-17
From everything I know which isn't much. EHD is caused by midges which are prevalent around water during times of drought. We haven't had a dry summer so I would be surprised if it were EHD. Plus I can't believe it would jump from the Midwest over several states to Ct. IMHO but I am no expert

08-Sep-17

Ace's embedded Photo
Ace's embedded Photo

08-Sep-17
A recently-discovered die-off of several deer in the Portland area MAY be due to hemorrhagic disease, which is one of the most important infectious diseases affecting white-tailed deer. The cause of death could not definitively be determined due to the condition of the dead animals, but the manner in which the deer were found led DEEP biologists to suspect that hemorrhagic disease may be the cause. The DEEP Wildlife Division is encouraging anyone who observes deer appearing emaciated, behaving strangely, or lying dead along the edge of waterbodies to report the information to the DEEP’s 24-hour emergency Dispatch Center at 860-424-3333 or the DEEP Wildlife Division at 860-418-5921. The department is seeking to test other dead deer to confirm the suspicion that hemorrhagic disease is the cause. Hemorrhagic disease does not infect humans, and rarely causes illness in domestic animals. More details are at https://go.usa.gov/xRFyu

08-Sep-17