Belchertown Bowman 18-Feb-18
Will 19-Feb-18
DanaC 19-Feb-18
huntskifishcook 19-Feb-18
Jebediah 19-Feb-18
Jebediah 19-Feb-18
Let's Go 19-Feb-18
17-Feb-18
This is my first time ever using cameras. How long do you guys keep them in one spot before moving? I have been keeping them out for three weeks at a whack, then moving them. I have yet to see anything on them. Very interesting learning experience so far.

I found a great location today. Signs of bedding and droppings everywhere. Problem is that it is bordered by water on two sides and the approach does not favor a westerly wind. Sneaky bastards. No way for me to set up there unless I get an odd easterly day.

17-Feb-18
we had a dozen or so east winds last year always good to have one

17-Feb-18
My cams have been on the same trees for 5+ years. They do t tell the whole story. I'll check my cams a week or so before the opener. Very little action. Hunt the stand opening day and see a bunch of deer that wouldn't have passed the camera. Love hate relationship with cameras.

18-Feb-18
I made a pie wind chart last year of my sites,.. made sure I had a site for any wind. I have limited days to hunt so nice to have wind able spots, no matter the wind direction.

I found that right before and after a storm I often saw odd wind directions,... and those are nice times to hunt.

Note last year was my first time even paying attention to wind,.. LOL Thanks to the advice I got on these forums.

19-Feb-18
Peter, I think it depends on how many cams you have or how you plan to hunt an area.

My approach when using them, is to leave them 2-4 weeks. I focus on areas that force movement too. Like a wall crossing, beaver dam crossing etc. Cam's seem harder to get on deer than hunting - the field of view is just much lower comparatively.