casekiska 29-Apr-18
upnorth 29-Apr-18
Crusader dad 29-Apr-18
Missouribreaks 29-Apr-18
upnorth 29-Apr-18
25-Apr-18

DoorKnob's embedded Photo
DoorKnob's embedded Photo
I'm flexible on the numbers I just put in what seems reasonable to me based on personal knowledge and experience. Range is really the issue.

ps I have no firsthand knowledge for hi tech xbows or even hi tec compounds. I am not personally aware of anyone taking a longer than 40 yard shot with ANY type bow, let alone making a harvest. Any arrow is subject to wind, tradjectory and broadhead issues.

I'll make a new graphic when better data is provided. What do we feel are the reasonable max ranges and practical ranges ?

25-Apr-18
I have seen three inch groups at 100 yards with a crossbow so that is a reasonable range to use when you make your new graph.

25-Apr-18
Rifle is only 400? My 338 edge can stay on a pie plate at 800 yds if the wind plays nice. By Capt's logic it should be good to go out to at least 1400.

25-Apr-18
I’m sorry, but this has to be one of the more ridiculous threads I’ve stumbled on in here this 2018 and that says a lot.

25-Apr-18
Doorknob , you got me thinking . A perfect way to "hold the line " while hunting deer during the archery season no deer shall be shot at beyond 30 yards., regardless of weapon choice . That rule if it was a rule would take care of everything . / preserve the archery deer hunt forever . Once someone hunts close they never forget the experience and will be back for more . Also their stories of a close hunt their experience up close to a wild animal draw others in . Nobody is really captaviated by a deer steak from a deer shot at 250 yards . That is why we have chicken and cows . Also everyone should take the challenge . Shoot a rifle shoot a compound shoot a cross bow and than shoot a one string bow . Which one ? Which one is pure fun ?

25-Apr-18