Contributors to this thread:
seneca_inc 11-Jul-23
tinman 12-Jul-23
Bow Bullet 12-Jul-23
SlipShot 17-Jul-23
seneca_inc 17-Jul-23
bowcrazyJRHCO 17-Jul-23
11-Jul-23
Any comments on treestand hunting in saddles+climbing sticks vs. a climber tree stand? I have no experience using a tree saddle.

12-Jul-23
Probably better question for main thread but saddles+climbing sticks all the way. More mobile and lighter/quieter.

12-Jul-23
Between the two options I'd go the saddle route. Where I hunt here in CO, I rarely see trees that are conducive to using a climber - too crooked, too many low branches, too big around, and the lodgepoles I've seen that are bare and straight are generally too small diameter.

17-Jul-23
We don't use "climbers" but we do use tree stands. We set up several tree stands in places that we know we are going to sit prior to season start. They are heavy and a pain to put up. Several years ago I purchased a tree saddle system. I love it, it is versatile, light, safe, and easy to use. You defiantly need to get use to using and shooting from the saddle. We still setup tree stands, but I the saddle gives me options if the elk are not frequenting the tree stand locations.

17-Jul-23
Thanks Slipshot. I do treestands and climbers. Debating making a switch to climbing sticks and a saddle. More gear.

17-Jul-23