Shuteye 05-Sep-17
tonyo6302 06-Sep-17
DL 06-Sep-17
tonyo6302 06-Sep-17
Shuteye 06-Sep-17
04-Sep-17

tonyo6302's embedded Photo
This guy was in my front yard this morning. ( Fredericksburg, VA )

.. ..

.. ..

Anybody know what kind of turtle this is ?

04-Sep-17

04-Sep-17
His head looks like a regular old painted turtle..... but I'm no expert......

04-Sep-17
What's his belly look like ?

04-Sep-17
I did not disturb the turtle. He looked like he was on a mission, probably to meet up with a girlfriend.

04-Sep-17
That's a Red Ear Slider. The water turtle that we could buy as kids (decades ago). They're in a lot of ponds, lakes, and rivers all over the country. Gene

04-Sep-17
Thanks, guys, especially JTV.

.. ..

.. ..

However, I must admit, I was a tad bit scared to click on any link with the word "cooter" in it.

JTV's link, however, was indeed PG rated.

Thanks again to all, going to send an email off to the VADGIF.

04-Sep-17
Cool.....

04-Sep-17
I've moved lots of snappers off the road by picking them up by the tail..... not sure if it hurts them but I'm sure getting hit by a car would hurt them.

04-Sep-17
I saved a painted that almost got run over by a school bus too..... I took it to the golf course it walked away from and put it back in one of their ponds.... turtles are cool !! I'm sure there are guys here that eat snapping turtles too.....

04-Sep-17

canepole's embedded Photo
canepole's embedded Photo
I guess if there's red ears on it, I will concede to JTV. I guess both live in the waters of Virginia. Gene

04-Sep-17
Not red ears.

04-Sep-17
JTV just got a new nickname, Cooter!

04-Sep-17
Haven't we all.

04-Sep-17
Canepole here we just call them sliders. I have caught hundreds of them when trapping snapping turtles. You can pick them up the won't try to bite you like a snapper. Most farm ponds are full of them. They get to be pretty good size but not nearly as heavy as a snapper.

05-Sep-17
Carrying a big snapper by the tail can injure it, so I read.