Bowbender 12-Oct-17
Jim Moore 12-Oct-17
Franzen 13-Oct-17
tonyo6302 13-Oct-17
Bowbender 13-Oct-17
gadan 13-Oct-17
Annony Mouse 13-Oct-17
12-Oct-17
I have no experience with CAD design or software. My daughter Jillie's husband is interested in getting a CAD program as he is in the process of designing a new concept in a waste management vehicle.

Wondering if anyone had any experience with CAD software.

Thanks

12-Oct-17
I have experience cussing at it, if that helps.

12-Oct-17
I really like Solidworks, you can incorporate motion to 3D drawings, shows contact, interference. Single piece and assembly, real user friendly.

12-Oct-17
I second Solid Works!

12-Oct-17
X3 for Solidwork. Expert Solidworks user here, along with EPDM management. Use it for the design of automation and custom machines.

Pro-E is a very solid and robust system, however the cost and learning curve is significantly greater. There are also some functionality issues that I don't care for.

12-Oct-17
I drew up my well house, and a shop table with Google Sketchup (free). I am blown away by those that can do CAD. Friend of mine designed power lines and distribution systems with AutoCAD and I couldn't even begin to keep track to what he was doing. Hats off to you operators that can! I'm sticking to napkins and sticky notes...lol.

13-Oct-17
I'm not a lot of help because I'm on the target side (civil/structures), instead of the mechanical side. We use MicroStation/Geopak and AutoCAD/Revit. Revit may have some dynamic capabilities... I'm not sure. It appears Autodesk actually has a platform called Inventor for modeling dynamic motion, which may be a consideration. The Solidworks program seems like it would be rather appealing though.

13-Oct-17
Check your PC, to see if Visio came with it.

.. ..

.. ..

Visio can get you started, but AutoCad will be the go to software.

13-Oct-17