Jim Moore 08-Nov-17
Woods Walker 08-Nov-17
Timo 09-Nov-17
slade 09-Nov-17
jdee 09-Nov-17
liv4it 09-Nov-17
jdee 09-Nov-17
08-Nov-17
I'm new to diesels. My truck has a Cummins diesel, and last year wouldn't start when it got around zero degrees. I've since had a block heater installed, but haven't use it yet. Now I'm afraid to go hunting in remote locations, alone in the big woods, where I can't plug it in. What experiences do you have regarding fuel additives, how many hours it can sit, etc. before I find myself stranded in the middle of nowhere?

08-Nov-17
My hunting partner has a 7.3. This time of year, before any major cold spells, he puts about 1/4 the normal dosage of fuel additive in the diesel. When a major cold front approaches, he goes full tilt and keeps it at that level. We discussed that last Saturday on the way to chasing antelope.

08-Nov-17
Might be an old wives tale, but starting fluid in passenger vehicle diesels will hurt the glow plugs.

I always plugged mine in the night before. Once it has ran down the road, it will start if left turned off for a few hours by adding anti-gel additive to the fuel tank.

Besides, if it's 20 below, what the heck you doing out hunting anyway!! 8^)

08-Nov-17
My 7.3 Powerstroke was always cold blooded. The block heater helped some, but that wasn't always possible to use. That was one of several reasons I got rid of the stinking, smoking, loud, fuel guzzling pig.

Matt

08-Nov-17
I have an 06 Duramax, I haven't had it in sub freezing temps very much, but when I do, it's a slug unless I let it run for about 25-30 minutes before I drive it. I can't say it hasn't ever started though, it just takes a long time to get going. Kinda like me without coffee:/

08-Nov-17
I've got an 07 Duramax. Never an issue with starting down to 15 degrees above zero. Doesn't get much colder than that here. Glow plugs seem to be adequate. No starting fluid. No fuel additives. Great engine. Pulls 12,000 lbs no trouble.

08-Nov-17