WV Mountaineer 20-Aug-15
elkstabber 20-Aug-15
Beendare 20-Aug-15
deerman406 20-Aug-15
Tilzbow 04-Jul-18
21-Dec-07

BB's embedded Photo
BB's embedded Photo
A number of years back I posted a thread to help those interested in getting their snuffers razor sharp. I found a foldere with the pictures I used and the old thread so I will copy and past the thread and repost the pictures.

I've had a number of Bowsiters ask me to do this in the past year or two, so here goes. I might say that this method will work on the snuffer ss's and similar heads that allow you to lay your three blades broadhead flat.

I'll try to make this as simple as it really is.

Before starting let me just say that I have been shooting and sharpening snuffers for over 20 years. I am sure there are a few ways to sharpen snuffers that I haven't tired, but I really can't think of any. I used the file method, the grinder, the sand paper, the carbon sharpening stones, Arkansas stones, etc. You name it, I think I have tired them all. Through all the trails and tribulations, the following method is the one I found to be the easiest and it gets the snuffers sharper than any method I have ever tired. I could go in great detail explaining the reasons I no longer use a file, or the reason I will never put a snuffer to a grinding wheel again and so forth and so on. Like I mentioned, at least for me, the method I use at present is the best and easiest I have been able to get the snuffers razor sharp.

The picture above is an array of some of the stones I used along the way. One can see I spent quite a bit of money experimenting. Now, I only use two stones to get the job done. I showed the array of stones and will explain a little bit about sizes and the reasons for different stones. But in reality a person only needs to purchase two stones and to start out, you can get by with just one. I will explain that a little later in my series of posts.

21-Dec-07

BB's embedded Photo
BB's embedded Photo