Trophyhill 23-Feb-20
drycreek 23-Feb-20
BigOzzie 24-Feb-20
MichaelArnette 24-Feb-20
MichaelArnette 24-Feb-20
Bowfreak 24-Feb-20
BigOzzie 24-Feb-20
12-Dec-18
I apologize...this is a little long, I'll try to keep it to the facts. I'm 39 years old, happily married with 3 little girls ages 4, 6 and 8. I'm a degreed engineer, 4 years in manufacturing, 10 years in utilities (coal fired power plant) and just over a year in pharma manufacturing. I live in the Midwest. The only thing holding me here is my parents. My only brother passed in 2012 at the age of 27 from cancer. I feel like I have to stay close to them because I'm all they have. However, I also feel like I'm limiting my self and my girls...there is so much more out there, opportunities, experiences, etc. I'm really torn! Recently I found out that a coworker/friend was diagnosed with cancer. He is the 5th coworker diagnosed since I started with my current employer. It really scares me and makes me think it's a sign that its time for a change. Unfortunately my financial responsibilities limit my employment options here. I have to make good money to afford my house etc. (yes, I'm house poor) and employment opportunities in this area are few and far between. I built my house on family ground as well so that's another complicated piece. This also limits my hunting opportunities which really hurts me! My wife would move in a heart beat, not an issue! As time passes I'm leaning more and more towards taking the leap but its scary. I've lived here all my life and know nothing else. If we were to do this we could build/buy smarter and put less financial stress on ourselves, provide more opportunity for our kids, etc. I would love to gain employment in a field I'm truly passionate about. Everywhere I've worked since college graduation has been based on financial compensation. That's important but I want to do something I'm truly passionate about. No clue what that job is, that's a question for all of you. I thought about en