Treeline 14-Jan-19
Will 14-Jan-19
Treeline 14-Jan-19
Treeline 14-Jan-19
ben h 15-Jan-19
ELKMAN 15-Jan-19
Treeline 15-Jan-19
14-Jan-19
Anybody have any experience, thoughts, or insight on this subject? I have always wanted to fish Peacock Bass on the Amazon top water.

14-Jan-19
I have no experience there, but a friend of mine spent last year there, on a eco trip, he is a naturalist,,,,, beautiful areas, but Bob, said, still dangerous area, as an American,,,,

14-Jan-19
I spent a week there 2 years ago - went all over the place but wasn’t hunting. Beautiful country and nice people - never felt unsafe.

Lee.

14-Jan-19
Lived down there for a few years. Did a lot of trout fishing, some hunting and a trip down to the jungle. There are some very interesting things there that most North Americans never even have a concept of. Shoot me a PM and I can help you get lined out with some cool stuff to do.

14-Jan-19

Huntcell 's Link
Didn’t know Peru was even close to being a peacock bass fishing destination . Quick google search proved otherwise. What an exiciting and beautiful fish they are.

14-Jan-19
There are some other fish that are way cooler than peacock bass...

Some crazy wildlife, too.

Hunting and fishing is way different down there. They have no history, culture, structure, laws or concept of conservation like we have in the US or Canada.

14-Jan-19
Most peacock bass are the smaller ones in Peru - butterfly. Same ones that you find in Panama and Florida.

There are some of the bigger speckled bass in a few areas but not many.

Payara are fun! There are still some rivers with giant catfish. There are still a few places with arapaima but they are rare.

Without regulations or enforcement, many fabulous fisheries have been destroyed and you have to go a long way back to get past where the commercial fishermen work.

14-Jan-19
Are there golden dorado in Peru? if so, that's totally a fishing trip worth exploring!

14-Jan-19