akbow 07-May-19
WapitiBob 07-May-19
SBH 07-May-19
Treeline 07-May-19
BOWUNTR 07-May-19
07-May-19

akbow's embedded Photo
akbow's embedded Photo
Maybe I am missing something, but I just got this letter from OR. It sounds like they have eliminated nearly all of the better units for NR deer hunters. As if OR hasn't already been screwing the NR's bad enough. I already have Oregon on my chopping block for the application process and this may be the straw that breaks the camels back. I've been building points there for 13 years (14 this year). What's the point of having this many points if they just pull all the tags you have been building points for? My apologies to the OR guys if you get offended, but this is really a kick in the nuts. Anybody else get this notice or have any insight whether this is a one time deal or what? I do know a biologist from OR that I am going to ask about it, but was wondering if anyone here knows anything about this.

07-May-19
OR is off the list for me this year.

07-May-19
Guides can draw 50% of the previous years nr allocation, per hunt, and offer guided hunts to non residents. It's been that way for a long time. 139R has only 20 tags, and as such, they alternate the single nr tag between guides and the nr public. That too has gone on for a while and shouldn't come as a surprise. Unfortunately, NR have dealt with the 20 tag or less scenario for many years and our Legislature isn't in a hurry to up the nr quota's.

07-May-19
I hear you Tavis--does that mean you just threw your points away and not apply in OR anymore? I can't bring myself to it. I want to, but as satisfying as it may be personally--I am one of those investors who can't stop throwing good money after bad...