CCOVEY 21-Mar-20
CCOVEY 21-Mar-20
CCOVEY 21-Mar-20
CCOVEY 21-Mar-20
Medicinemann 21-Mar-20
CCOVEY 14-Apr-20
GhostBird 14-Apr-20
20-Mar-20
Well since my job site is shutdown (due to snow) and whats currently happening with the Coronavirus i figured it was as good a time as any to type out my 2019 hunting season. Ive been a member for quite a while and don't contribute too much.

Some background about me: I'm 32, and live in Lakewood CO. I work as a superintendent for a general contractor all along the front range. Current assignment is out in Aurora.

20-Mar-20
Time for spring turkey, the wait was finally over! Due to work commitments i had 2 days to hunt birds. My buddy Jim, who now lives i Iowa, and my other buddy KC take an annual trip to Nebraska to chase gobblers every year. We've done this every year since Jim moved out of Colorado, as its a good time to catch up on whats going on in our lives and drink some beer while we do it.

We rolled into town late Friday night, mid April. We decided with the limited time and having no clue where the birds would be it was probably best to bring the scatter guns. Jim was there to great us with a warm fire as we pulled in around midnight.

After a quick hello, that turned into an all night deal, we were off to bed. It was 3AM and morning was fast approaching.

20-Mar-20

CCOVEY's embedded Photo
Myself and Jim with our birds.
CCOVEY's embedded Photo
Myself and Jim with our birds.
We got out of bed the next morning, by bed i mean the front seats of our vehicles, and headed for the woods.

We were greeted with some distant gobbles before first light and started making the journey to where we thought the birds might be. As it started getting light we picked a couple trees about 20 yards apart and took our perch for the morning sit. It didn't take long and the birds were on the ground. They were vocal in the roost but once they hit the ground, not a peep.