willliamtell 20-Aug-20
Thunderhawk 21-Aug-20
Chief 419 21-Aug-20
Grey Ghost 22-Aug-20
19-May-20

Pat Lefemine's embedded Photo
Pat Lefemine's embedded Photo

Pat Lefemine's Link
In our latest feature we explore some of the impacts to hunting, outfitters and the industry in a post-coronavirus world. How's it affecting you?

19-May-20
It's not.

There's a possibility cougars could contract it.

19-May-20
I work in the oil industry and we've gone through a bit of a double whammy. Beyond the Saudi/Russia production war ramping up supply, demand has obviously taken a huge hit due to COVID. Things weren't really great before these two things hit, and they've certainly made a bad situation worse.

In response, my employer has cut dividend, cut other stock incentives, and cut our bonuses to zero (my bonus was typically 25-35% of my pay). There is still a lot of uncertainty, and areas of our company have begun laying people off and there's rumblings of more to come, though nothing is confirmed just yet.

This has impacted my plans in a few ways. This year I drew an antelope tag in NM and had a mule deer hunt in SD already paid for, so I'm going to go on those. Beyond that, I'm cutting discretionary spending on gear and what not and I'm not sure what my 2021 plans will hold - it all depends on what happens to things. Right now, I'm not 100% committed to any hunts past this year and it may stay that way for next year.

19-May-20
No issue for me here in Colorado (retired with income). I have turkey hunted in Nebraska and now Colorado. Did some fishing and will still plan on Colorado pronghorn, elk, and deer hunt Nebraska in the fall.

Like the yearly weather and what will the weather be for 2020, we will not know the effect of C-19 or the weather has on hunting as a whole, until next year after all of the 2020 hunts/weather are over. Some have predicted it will decrease the amount of hunters in the field, or hunters going out of state, or hunters applying for limited tags.