jdbbowhunter 26-Mar-21
MuleyBum 26-Mar-21
Mint 26-Mar-21
Two Feathers 29-Mar-21
Rob Nye 31-Mar-21
Live2Hunt 31-Mar-21
Jeff Durnell 31-Mar-21
21-Mar-21
For those that have shifted from hunting with traditional to a compound bow what was your reason for making the switch

21-Mar-21
i tore my rotator cuff so it wouldn't let me draw and hold the weight. Plus shooting trad demands constant year round practice to stay proficient

21-Mar-21
Well to be honest, when i was like 7 i started shooting a recurve. At 11 i killed my first deer with a reurve. But i really sucked at shooting it. When i was like 14 or 15 my dad bought a bear polar 2 compound. I got what was called a Altier site and boy could i shoot that bow. I was able to keep 3 arrows inside a paper plate at 20 yds. That gave me confidence. With the recurve i killed the first deer i shot at. Then I pretty much missed all the rest. With the compound i started killing deer and i just felt like going hunting i had a chance, which made it more enjoyable.. I'm self taught bowhunter. I've hunted a dozen different states and 3 provinces. Other than hunting in Ny one time with a gun, I've never hunted outside my home state with a gun. Ed

21-Mar-21
I've been very successful with longbows and recurves, taking many trophy class animals of multiple species. But after a lifetime of shooting trad I started having elbow and shoulder issues in my mid-60s. Not serious, but enough that it was affecting my accuracy (and confidence) even with rehab. So I made a choice, put vanity aside, and switched. My style of hunting hasn't changed and my furthest shot with a compound has been 35 yards, closer than some stickbow shots. But it allows me to keep hunting ethically (by my standards).

21-Mar-21
Time

21-Mar-21
Have them all, love them all.

21-Mar-21

ahunter76's embedded Photo
ahunter76's embedded Photo