JL 18-May-21
bonehead 18-May-21
Ace 19-May-21
Shiloh 19-May-21
DanaC 20-May-21
boothill 20-May-21
The last savage 24-May-21
10-May-21
We all know that lumber prices have gone through the roof, making the cost of building anything out of reach for many. That got me thinking: Let's say a guy had access to a sawmill, and more trees than he knew what to do with ... Can you saw your own lumber and build something; say a cabin from freshly cut lumber, or does it have to be kiln dried for a long period of time? Is there a way to do that that makes sense? How about a Post & Beam design, anyone done anything like that?

I'd love to hear thoughts from those with any experience in this. Pros, Cons, ideas?

*I'd like to point out that this hypothetical cabin (on some land a Bowsite member may or may not own) would be used primarily for BOW HUNTING, and therefore this thread would not run afoul of the bowsite rules limiting topics to those bow hunting related only. :-)

10-May-21
Im a cabin builder/master carpenter, freshly cut logs can be used but will shrink,twist a bit , sometimes a lot!!!+ during the drying stage,if youve put them in as wall logs, then you'll see the results of the shrinkage, not pretty. Best case senerio, if you cut green logs,, debark um, let usit for a year, up off the ground so air circulation is there. Then use them on your project, milling lumber and ricking it up to dry is a far faster drying method. But thats boards,not logs. Any post and beam lumber should be very dry as the joints are the primus of the build..wet wood shrinks, once again a diasaster using wet lumber,,its jus a bad idea ,any way you look at it,, i have a wood mizer bandsaw mill,, if you can buy logs that have aged a year your best bet.

10-May-21
^^^^ What He Said!^^^^

10-May-21
And then don’t figure in your labor costs! ;-)

10-May-21