jordanathome 08-Jul-21
Jaquomo 08-Jul-21
jordanathome 08-Jul-21
SandTrapArcher 16-Jul-21
SandTrapArcher 16-Jul-21
SandTrapArcher 16-Jul-21
SandTrapArcher 16-Jul-21
31-Jul-13
Does anyone here use a hmmock on there bivy hunts? If so pros and cons.

31-Jul-13
Thinking of trying an Eno myself this season.

31-Jul-13
My partner just got one and swears it will be the ticket.

He had a spare, so we used them on a bivy scout.

Maybe it was fluke, but I slept terrible and had sore neck/back.

He slept great and is going to use it on our upcoming elk hunt.

I'm an engineer, so tend to weigh pros/cons and am very particular.

IMO pros include: light weight; no need for flat ground; mice & little critters no concern.

Cons: Need appropriately spaced trees; very tough to change clothes inside; I could not lie flat & sides wrapped me like a cocoon which I did not like.

Based on one night only, I personally am not ready to switch from bivy tent.

Carl

31-Jul-13

elkmtngear's Link
My hunting partner will be using one as well this Season...at least one of us will be free to run off the bear when he is using Kenny as a pinyata ;)

Best of Luck, Jeff (Bowsite Sponsor)

31-Jul-13
One other con...you will freeze if it's cold. unless you can figure out a way to get some foam under your sleeping bag and even that may not do it.

31-Jul-13
If your hunt turns cold and wet it sounds miserable.

31-Jul-13
I will only use a hammock these days, did plenty of nights on the ground from boy scouts on up.

Rain? Buy the rain fly, set it up taut. Bring a plastic tarp to put underneath your hammock, fold it over during rain or night, keeps your stuff clean and dry.

Cold? I use a therma-rest in my hammock, keeps me insulated and keeps me from sliding down. If that's not enough, there are companies that make thermal 'blankets' that go around the hammock.

Trees are oddly spaced? I use the Eno's Pro-Straps, have yet to find a place I could use it.