SixLomaz 18-Jul-18
LKH 18-Jul-18
ground hunter 18-Jul-18
TEmbry 18-Jul-18
Buckhunter 19-Jul-18
Cheesehead Mike 19-Jul-18
Hunting5555 23-Jul-18
18-Jul-18
What do I need to know and what should I buy. I generally only process and save select parts of a deer or two a year. But buy turkey ,chicken and ham in bulk from the colony and would like to repackage to a size for my wife and I. Just what should I buy instead of a $75 one at Walmart

18-Jul-18
My Food Saver has lasted a loooong time!

18-Jul-18
I have an Ary Vacmaster VP215, it is a chamber style machine. It has been flawless and IMO has a much tighter seal than the food saver style, just depends how much use you plan on getting out of it as they are expensive and heavy.

18-Jul-18

Cheesehead Mike's Link
I had an entry level food saver and it only lasted a couple years. Then I stepped up to a better model and it's been going strong. I recommend you get one with the hose attachment and then buy the Quick Marinator (see my link). It's awesome for marinating wild game.

18-Jul-18
I’ve used the Food Saver Pro sport for about 8 years doing a couple of deer and turkeys each year. It has worked fine for my use.

18-Jul-18
+1 Nick, my Food Saver has also lasted many years!

18-Jul-18
I have a Food Save, it was a gift and a good one. Works well,,,,, I worked part time for a butcher, and he simply told me, since you will not have a commercial karovac system like mine (expensive), just wrap the meat in cellophane, a good butcher fold wrap, with freezer paper which he showed me how to do it properly, and the meat will last a long time.....

I never had a problem, so the food saver is okay, but so is the old butcher method

18-Jul-18
What Kevin Speicher said... they are awesome!. Foodsaves work well but the bags are WAY pricier.... where Vacmaster bags can be bought in $50 range for 500/ $75 for a 1000. Many many dif size bags available and are very tough and thicker.

18-Jul-18