Recurve Shooter 29-Jun-20
Scar Finga 29-Jun-20
smarba 29-Jun-20
pirogue 10-Feb-21
BTM 10-Feb-21
BOHNTR 10-Feb-21
Novembermadman 15-Feb-21
27-Jun-20
I am looking into bowhunting javelina. Was thinking of going out to Arizona for the hunt. Has anyone one here hunted with any particular guides / outfitters for javelina? I'm open to suggestions for hunts outside if Arizona also. I have just always heard that Arizona had some good javelina hunting. It would be my first time hunting them. Thanks!

27-Jun-20
Not a hard diy hunt. As long as you can spot them you can kill them. Can probably get plenty of places to hunt from local biologists and such too. See plenty of them south of Tucson last year while deer hunting.

27-Jun-20
Thanks for the info. I'm just getting started looking into this and had researched what kind of public land was available to hunt in Arizona. Not much public land to hunt on around where I live at.

27-Jun-20
My buddy did it last year knowing nothing about the public land as a winter break type hunt and killed one. He said he hiked all day, but the animals were there.

27-Jun-20
You don't need a guide. Sometime in October AZ will do their draw for javelina permits, for a January hunt. Suggest you look south of Tucson- that vicinity. There is a lot of BLM land and some Forest Service land- all open. As for finding javelina, they like to be found on south or east facing slopes when the sun first comes up. Find a high point to glass, or, as I do, glass/walk as sitting isn't great fun. If you go onto the AZ game and fish website they have posts about various game in each hunting unit- great place to get some info on where to hunt.

27-Jun-20
Excluding the res's, I believe AZ is ~90% public land.

27-Jun-20
Plenty of ranch hunts for them in S. Tx + hogs. Limit two Javies & usually unlimited hogs. $45, 5 day non resident tag, no draws if your interested.

27-Jun-20
I’d be interested in South Texas also.

27-Jun-20