bentstick54 05-Apr-21
Nick Muche 05-Apr-21
butcherboy 05-Apr-21
Bou'bound 06-Apr-21
Chief 419 09-Apr-21
WV Mountaineer 09-Apr-21
midwest 09-Apr-21
25-Mar-21
I've done a little brat making but not a lot. One reason I don't make more is that I've always felt the casings were too tough and it makes things chewy. My favorite store-bought brats are from Johnsonville. Is there any place to buy casings like that? They seem far less tough.

25-Mar-21
Yes. Any sausage supply store will have it. I buy mine online from the sausage maker. It’s hog casings. That’s what all brats are packaged in. Sounds like you used something different.

25-Mar-21
I have been stuffing my own for about 40 years now, and up until last season always used natural hog casings. It was always a mess and pain rinse them out before stuffing so last season I bought clear callogen casing. It was so much cleaner and easier to use that I will never go back to hog casing. Plus the hog casing has a tendency to curve back to its natural state when stuffed and the callogen will lay out straight. Much easier to package.

25-Mar-21
No, not all brats are packaged in hog casings. A lot are packaged in collagen casings. They are much easier to use and easier to store for long periods of time. What hog casings do is give the sausage a distinctive “bite, or snap” when you bite into it. They also don’t seem to break as often when cooking them. I prefer the collagen and use them for all my customer orders.

25-Mar-21
I learned something today. Thanks.

Let me rephrase that then. Every brat I’ve ever made was in hog casings. And, I see no reason to change.

25-Mar-21
We're using collagen casings. We get ours from REM, the folks we bought our grinder from.

25-Mar-21
Oops... grinder is an LEM

25-Mar-21
I buy mine directly from a casing company. Usually 25 casings per box and I buy about 4-6 boxes at a time. LEM, Walton’s, Bunzl/Koch, etc are good places to buy small quantities.