Ok...Russ 11-May-21
Teeton 11-May-21
pav 11-May-21
Rupe 12-May-21
Bow Crazy 12-May-21
Catscratch 12-May-21
lewis 12-May-21
11-May-21
How many acres do you maintain on a parcel of land. If multiple properties, list by each one instead of the total.

I have two properties, 120 acres of which I maintain 7 acres of one continuous, winding plot, and the three acres we live on that has approximately a one acre plot.

I have seldom worked all seven acres in one year as the plot is split into three different plant offerings consisting of a combination of perennials and annuals. Another 10 acres are crops planted by a pro.

Installed my first plot in ‘96 with a rototiller hand seeder and rake. Killed a gaggle of turkeys and numerous deer off of it. Today, I think I am just a frustrated farmer as most of my plot work I could have my farmer do it and minimize my own equipment needs, storage etc.

Guys like Troy are great at improvising and keeping equipment cots down, but I lack the skill set and time to do that. Maybe a discussion on this can help those getting started narrow down what they really need versus what they just want?

I would most likely be able to do without a tractor, just an ATV, broadcast seeder, sprayer and drag. Might have to wait on my farmer some, but it would have save a lot of money. Obviously though I do not have the acreage in plots that many of you maintain.

11-May-21