Cheesehead Mike 30-Oct-21
Jarhead 01-Nov-21
DL 01-Nov-21
W 02-Nov-21
wytex 03-Nov-21
easeup 03-Nov-21
GrantK 04-Nov-21
21-Oct-21
Hey guys, old-member from way back here that has been away for a number of years. Wanting to get some thoughts and opinions on starting the pursuit of an archery elk. Let me give a brief background first:

GOAL - My ultimate goal is a DIY archery elk. It doesn't have to be 350", but the hunt needs to be "right". In that I mean I want to find him, strategize how to get him, call him in, make a good shot and get him packed off the mountain. I want to EARN him, not just roll up, shoot straight and smile big for the picture.

1. I'm a southeastern US resident that has been bowhunting whitetails and a few turkeys with "decent" success for 25+ years.

2. Middle-aged with the typical "blessings / constraints" - wife, two kids, demanding job - not independently wealthy but not flat broke either.

3. I'm in "decent" physical shape, and have the experience and drive to be in whatever condition is necessary to reach my goals.

4. I have never hunted any species of western big game, but it has been a back-burner goal since I was a young boy. I currently have 9 preference points in Wyoming for elk, mule deer and antelope. No points anywhere else.

5. I have a good friend and hunting partner with the same preference points. We've traveled all over hunting waterfowl for years, but we are both GREEN when it comes to western big game.

I'm ready to move this goal from the back burner. I'm realizing I have a decent investment in time in these preference points for Wyoming. I also realize trying to roll into a good unit with no elk hunting experience is a good way to get an education in the school of hard knocks.