BC173 24-Jan-22
Al Dente Laptop 24-Jan-22
06-Jan-22

Pat Lefemine's embedded Photo
NRA Exec Jeff Poole heading up ATA
Pat Lefemine's embedded Photo
NRA Exec Jeff Poole heading up ATA

Pat Lefemine's Link
ATA just announced they selected a new CEO, former NRA executive Jeff Poole.

Now, I have zero knowledge about this guy. He may be awesome leader, and a hard core bowhunter.

But...I am concerned about an NRA guy at the helm of the Archery Trade Association. NRA has stuck their noses into several issues that, IMO, made archery seasons weaker. I worry about further erosion of bow seasons, increased opportunity for muzzleloaders, crossbows, etc. I hope I'm wrong, but my gut tells me otherwise.

BTW - I am a life member of NRA and completely support their 2A mission. They are vital to our freedom. So this is not a criticism of NRA whatsoever.

Anyone feel the same? Disagree?

06-Jan-22
Try and get an interview with him to post here.

06-Jan-22
I have no opinion until I know where he stands on bow hunting. I agree that a Bowsite interview would be a good thing, if he's willing.

Matt

06-Jan-22
So, what is the ATA pushing hard this year? More open x-bow seasons?

06-Jan-22
That crowd is growing at a rapid pace. I was at the archery shop the other day getting my daughters bow set up that she got for Christmas and the guy helping me said sales are 50/50 right now.

06-Jan-22
Wow.. only 50/50?? Id expect 72/25..... only a matter of time.....

06-Jan-22
My gut tells me that this is not going to end well for those of us who shoot vertical bows.

06-Jan-22
Thanks for the heads up Pat. I say we give the guy the benefit of the doubt.

Remember ATA stands for Archery Trade Association. Hiring a marketing expert to head up a trade group makes perfect sense. His job is to promote archery and his Board, which consists of industry leaders, will dictate the direction of the organization.