T-rex 30-Jun-22
Firsty 01-Jul-22
Aspen Ghost 01-Jul-22
KSBOW 05-Jul-22
Shb 06-Jul-22
Treeline 06-Jul-22
KSBOW 06-Jul-22
29-Jun-22
Just curious on input here, currently I have 2 points in Colorado with no real goal. Colorado OTC, Wyoming General, and New Mexico draw is essentially my yearly plan with that being said do you all think there is good opportunity in the 2-5 point range in Colorado or is it more of a long game. Keeping in mind I am still a rookie I have yet to score despite multiple close calls. An elk is still my target cow or bull, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Have a great day!!

29-Jun-22
In the exact same boat and I'll be cashing points within the next couple of years.

29-Jun-22
As a nonresident it may become more difficult to draw an elk unit with 2-5 PP. Currently the allocations are 65% residents and 35% nonresidents (after some youth and land owner preference) . The allocations might change in three years, (new 5-year Big Game Season Structure) to 75/25 %.. Another possibility would be that all archery elk licenses might go all limited draw. And recently, a few good draw units lost limited elk tags because some bow hunters complained of "overcrowding". "Overcrowding" seems to be the new buzzword. Sort of like, "the sky is falling".

29-Jun-22
Keep an eye on the increasing wolf numbers and where they are. that is going to have a big impact sooner rather than later.

29-Jun-22
OP, Opportunity for what?

The reality of elk hunting is there are more and more hunters and less good tags available.

Maybe consider this; The lesser point units can increase your odds of killing a small amount…but you can do that on your own by becoming intimately familiar with a spot. You can’t do that hunting a spot every 4 years.

29-Jun-22