Jasper 29-Jul-22
Jasper 29-Jul-22
DonVathome 30-Jul-22
Grey Ghost 30-Jul-22
Tracker 31-Jul-22
Jim McNamara 31-Jul-22
Rock 31-Jul-22
27-Jul-22
Driving from Georgia to Wyoming in a few weeks to antelope hunt. I’ll be tent camping, taking 2 big coolers. Almost all of my food will be pre-made and frozen, 30 minute drive to town. I’ve never used dry ice before, is it worth it? Or just go with block and bag ice? Thanks!

27-Jul-22
Yes, my go to…

27-Jul-22
I drive from Arkansas. Never used dry ice. I freeze gallons of water in plastic bottles. Keeps things cold and supplies water also.

27-Jul-22
works great to keep and make things frozen. Only use it if your ok with frozen food. Learned the hard way when all my potato salad and condiments were frozen solid.

27-Jul-22
I have tried dry ice, and found the hassle and expense not worth it. Use frozen gallon milk jugs and never look back. Bill

27-Jul-22
Freeze either gallon jugs or bottles of water. As they melt you can drink them and it doesn't make a wet mess of your cooler. They'll last for days in a good cooler.

27-Jul-22
I’d go with the blocks bought locally. You’ll be going to town once or twice any way. Good luck.

27-Jul-22
Unnecessary

27-Jul-22
Freezing big solid blocks is a great idea, but wrapping them in rolled insulation and taping them tightly will allow your ice to last even longer. Rolled insulation wrapped tightly doesn't add but an inch of space to the exterior wall of your gallon jugs of ice. Additionally making an insulated plywood sheet to separate your goods from your ice in your coolers works even better. I can keep ice twice as long by incorporating fiberglass insulation. Wrap in cellophane first and tape it with packing tape. Even the cheapest coolers with more storage space will suffice using this method.

27-Jul-22