SCT 23-May-23
bluedog 23-May-23
Jeff Holchin 23-May-23
SCT 23-May-23
Aspen Ghost 24-May-23
Frankieg 29-May-23
Charlie Rehor 29-May-23
23-May-23
Hi all, thanks to some advice on here decided to bite the bullet and go out West for OTC Colorado elk. My buddy and I have no real life knowledge about elk - everything we've learned has come from books and watching YouTube videos and trying to figure out what works for people. I got OnX to get a better idea of some of the OTC areas and came across some places I thought may be decent. What resources have helped you guys in the past narrowing down areas? Trying to figure out which of the few dozen places I have saved are worth going to in person. Any advice would be helpful!

23-May-23
The term “e-scouting” is comical to me. Expect any CO OTC spot that looks “decent” on OnX to be elbows and assholes with hunters.

Good luck.

Matt

23-May-23
I figured as much. Not trying to find a "good" spot, moreso the least worst out of what I've got

23-May-23
"e-scouting" ? Think the times have passed me by..... guess it happens if one lives long enough.

23-May-23
What you will most likely find at any public area for elk in the western states is most hunters will only go in 2-3 miles max from the road or parking areas, while the outfitters and hunters with horses/mules don’t even start hunting until maybe 6 miles back in, so you and your buddy should focus on that zone from 3-6 miles in, preferably UPHILL. Spike camp at the edge of that zone and see what happens. Have at least 3-4 such areas, and don’t spend more than 2 days at area 1 if the elk are not there. CNelk offered you some spots, start with those!

23-May-23
Jeff - Thank you! That makes sense. Very generous of cnelk, super excited to check them out

24-May-23

Aspen Ghost's Link