TurkeyBowMaster 23-Feb-14
drycreek 23-Feb-14
greenmountain 23-Feb-14
TurkeyBowMaster 23-Feb-14
doug 23-Feb-14
Buffalo1 23-Feb-14
Rayzor 25-Feb-14
25-Mar-06
Hi There, I'm new to bow hunting and rather than spending a bunch of money, I thought I'ld go used, just until I decide what I really want.

So I just picked up an old bow and hoped someone could give me an idea of it's history, quality or value.

It's a Bear Whitetail Hunter, suggested by the white stamp of those words above and below an image of the head and neck of a dear in 3/4 profile, on the face of the upper limb, the number on the inside of the upper limb is WH-90306, on the lower limb is another stamp with the Bear logo and states that the Bear compound bow is licensed under Allen patent 3,486,495. It's got a cast metal riser dimpled in texture and copper in color with a silver button of the logo and word Bear in relief on the inside and brown fiberglass limbs, steel cables and 6 wheels.

It seems to have been well cared for, in that, it's only sign of wear is the string and arrow rest. But with no knowledge of bows, I would'nt even know that it's worth a new string. So any advice or info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks Kit

25-Mar-06
those were popular in the 70's....maybe early 80's....... from a safety standpoint....I would buy something newer....those things are relics....

25-Mar-06
I bought one for $50 a couple years ago. It was my first bow and I killed deer and hogs with it. As long as it shoots and it's accurate then it'll work. I did upgrade to a new bow after that year though and man what a difference you'll see and wonder why you waited to buy a new bow. Practice with it though and try it out this season.

25-Mar-06
I bought mine in 1977 in Mansfield Ohio at a place called 5 Cousins. I still have it and I got it out last year just to see how it shot. This year I plan on taking it on an early season doe hunt. I have a ton of great memories with that bow!!!

25-Mar-06

Ron Reddon's Link