TMA1010 07-Jul-16
Big Fin 07-Jul-16
Bigdan 07-Jul-16
tradmt 08-Jul-16
ELKMAN 08-Jul-16
Bigdan 08-Jul-16
Bigdan 08-Jul-16
21-Feb-12
The two Breaks units...north one is a little better.

Hands down the best Bighorn hunt in the world.

They will get $300,000 for these tags at auction.

21-Feb-12
Breaks units have been killing 200 class rams for the last few years.

22-Feb-12
Scoot,

I live near those units @ Plains and have hunted several of them with my wife and friends. I'd have to say out of about 25 days of hunting and scouting those units I've only seen one sheep that I thought would go 190 or better. A 180-185" ram is very realistic in those areas if you put some serious time in. I don't think there's been a 200" ram killed in Sanders Co for quite a few years.

BTW any sheep hunt is an awesome experience and I'm not trying to steer you away. I've been applying for these units for the past 8 years and I'll continue till I draw a tag.

22-Feb-12
The Breaks is where it's at. Ridiculous draw odds, but monster rams!

22-Feb-12
Unit 124 produced a 196" this past year. I know of more than one 190" ram taken out of that area, including surrounding units.

22-Feb-12
Scoot; I think the gal you are refering to ended up with a ram that was either No. 2 or 3 for the state. However, last year Matt Rippentrop killed a ram that is the new no.2 at 204 and change I think... might have been 205 and change. Came from the Breaks as did 2 other rams that official scored over 200" currently it is pretty consistent to kill a ram over 190 with Breaks tag.

23-Feb-12
Mavis Lorenz , shot a 200 1/8.

Hunting by herself.I think she was 65 years old.

Back when Rock Creek was producing Montanas best sheep.I always enjoyed reading any story about that lady. She was something. If I remember right , she was a hair over 5 foot tall.

23-Feb-12