Ace 16-Jan-14
DonVathome 17-Jan-14
jax2009r 22-Jan-14
Barty1970 24-Jan-14
mixed bag 25-Jan-14
bill v 30-Jan-14
Ace 04-Jun-14
10-Oct-13
I have long wanted to hunt Moose, and I hoped to be able to do it in New England. Hunting close to home I figured, would keep costs down, and allow me to drive home with all that delicious meat.

Maine started the modern era of New England Moose hunting. In 1980 they had the first modern hunt. I was a college student in Maine at the time, and I applied with high hopes. Many years later I am still waiting to draw a tag there.

New Hampshire was next, instituting their modern season for Moose in 1988.

Vermont opened it’s first modern day moose season in 1993. An Archery only season followed in 2011. There are 50 Archery tags available, and you can put in for both the regular and archery only seasons.

In VT's first Archery Only Moose hunting 50 hunters shot 16 moose, the second year they got 17. A 33% archery success rate sounded pretty good to me!

The season is October 1-7 which is the late pre-rut, a great time to call in a bull.

I have been applying for many years in Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. This year when the results were posted, I was once again not a lucky winner in Maine, or in New Hampshire, or in New Brunswick (which I started applying to a couple of years back).

I did have a bit of excitement however, a friend of mine's daughter drew in Maine, and a friend from New Hampshire drew in the zone he lives in. Calling them with the good news was at least getting to participate a tiny bit in their luck. It seems that almost every year lately I am the one informing a friend that they drew a moose tag.

Only Vermont was left this year, they draw the winning hunters name's very late. Finally it was to be my turn.

On August 1 of this year I was shocked to see my name posted as 1 of the non-resident Archery Moose Permit Winners. 50 permits total, 10% to nonresidents and I was one of them!