Bowfreak 11-Dec-13
PeroteHunter 11-Dec-13
Hunt-Big_SC 12-Dec-13
Beendare 12-Dec-13
RLong 12-Dec-13
cvarcher 20-Oct-18
DMTJAGER 28-Oct-18
09-Dec-13
Do any of yall have any advice, or opinions on using fobs instead of blazer vanes? Or vice versa. I have no knowledge of them at all. But I would think that it would either come off as the arrow passes through or just the arrow wouldn't pass through.

09-Dec-13
No crappy Whisker bishit?? That's laughable.

Blazers

09-Dec-13
But how do they fly comparable to blazers?

09-Dec-13
I have shot FOB's since 2006 and taken a lot of animals using them. They fly great, better in crosswind situations than Blazers. They fly exactly the same as Blazers out of all my bows out to 80 yards. The FOB's are better at "steering" large fixed blade heads. But I really have no problems with Blazers in that regard either. I presently shoot BOTH, love my FOB's and Blazers.

09-Dec-13
I looked into this question myself. I took all the information I could find, evaluated it and came to my own conclusion. I think it boils down on personal choice. Bottom line is flight characteristics seem reasonably close providing each is used with a set-up that is good for either choice.

Key things to consider using a fob: No Whisker Biskets Harder to find arrow upon complete pass thru Lighted nock options may be limited or modifications to nock may be necessary.

09-Dec-13
FOBs, they offer no advantage over vanes and plenty of disadvantages. Plenty of threads on these in the archives.

10-Dec-13

Bernie1's embedded Photo
Bernie1's embedded Photo
I’m one of those odd balls that likes FOB’s for the following:

Pros for me:

I have always hated refletching arrows.

I really like that I can just pop them on and off if needed.(Traveling to hunt maybe)

Finding arrows are not a problem if you have a bright wrap...white like mine are.

I think they do give me better accuracy at distance and with broadheads.

Cons for me: