EmbryOklahoma 06-May-16
writer 06-May-16
DEC 06-May-16
Brotsky 06-May-16
DEC 06-May-16
bowcrazyJRHCO 06-May-16
AXE MAN 07-May-16
18-May-15
(2016: Bumping old thread from last year...)

I am no TBM. I've killed a few birds but still don't think I know anything.

And I'm an engineer. So I love data.

I was thinking about my successful hunts. I wonder if my experience is similar to otehrs....

So how have you killed your birds?

18-May-15
Here are my results: 21 birds total.

8 birds: Set up in morning with decoys. Waited. Called occasionally. Eventually birds came right to decoys. Note: They usually didn't come it first light. It was usually 8:00 until 10:00 when they finally got there.

4 birds: Roost birds night before. Sneak in very early and directly under roost. Wait for an hour or so. Shoot bird at fly down. With decoys.

4 birds: Stake out good path. Or see birds walking and set up in front of them. No decoys. Ambush bird when he gets close enough.

4 birds: Call birds in without decoys.

1 bird: "Fanning". Showed "pretty boy", tom ran in and I shot him.

0 birds: stalking

0 birds: running and gunning. Calling while walking and get a response. Set up with or without decoys. Hot bird comes in.

18-May-15
I've killed maybe 15 or so, I don't keep track that closely but I can only shoot 1 or 2 per year depending on my luck drawing tags so that seems right. Every single one falls into the first category, although it really is more of a combination of 1 and 2.

18-May-15
Full disclaimer... 18 of the 21 birds were taken with a shotgun. All of the bow killed birds were taken with the first strategy

18-May-15
I've killed a few spot and stalk.

Killed 1 "fanning."

Called in a few others.

18-May-15