Charlie Rehor 28-May-15
gobbler 28-May-15
huntnmuleys 28-May-15
wyobullshooter 29-May-15
BULELK1 29-May-15
Inshart 29-May-15
kellyharris 29-May-15
28-May-15
A friend of mine and I are going moose hunting for the first time this September. We are going to Alberta and are using Ryk Visscher as our outfitter. Besides all the logistical problems of getting our stuff there and getting moose meat back to Missouri, we knew another issue we faced was getting a feel for how big these animals really are. Even a big whitetail looks pretty small compared to a fully grown moose. To that end we decided to make life sized moose targets to practice shooting at. This post is the process I went through to make mine.

The first thing I did was find a good picture of a moose that showed where the vitals were located. I am an engineer/computer guy by trade and I have access to a slew of computer graphic and drawing programs. Using these, I was able to trace around the moose picture and then scale it up to life size. For reference, I figured the top of the moose's hump would be 6' 6" from the ground and scaled everything accordingly. This is the picture I used.  photo moosecutaway_zps8sxemmoz.jpg

And this is the profile I came up with.  photo MooseTargetProfile_zps1ultcrgq.jpg