TSI 09-Nov-15
Fuzzy 09-Nov-15
sbschindler 09-Nov-15
thedude 09-Nov-15
Ken Taylor 09-Nov-15
Kdog 10-Nov-15
Kdog 10-Nov-15
08-Nov-15
So my plan if drawn is to go to NB next year saw three great Bulls during bear season. I plan to take a bow but outfitter recommend a gun. I'm new to the moose thing so would a 35 Whalen be enough loaded with 250 grain rounds. Two guys took nice moose with guns but I'm not into the 338 Win Mag and their shots where 400 meters. Any suggestions would be nice. Thanks

08-Nov-15
Heed your outfitter's advice and take the gun. Bow hunting moose is an extreme exhausting venture. If that is the gun you have available then your .35 Whalen with 250 grain load will do just fine if you stay within 200 yards. Make sure the scope is up to par in quality. Practice quick reloads and fast shooting, 3-4 bullets in a row.

Also, for larger game such as elk and moose, I believe the Swift 225-grain A-Frame and the Nosler Partition of the same weight are a better choice. Due to their higher velocity they shoot flatter and retain more weight for deep penetration than softer bullets weighing 250 grains.

Swift A-Frame 225(grains) RL-15(powder type) 58.0(load) 2,566(speed)

Nosler Partition 225(grains) V-N140(powder type) 56.0(load) 2,581(speed)

08-Nov-15
If you want to kill a moose with your bow, leave your rifle at home.

If it's more about the kill, and not the hunt, then by all means take your rifle along.

08-Nov-15
Outfitter recommends a gun because he wont have to work as hard to get you a moose! Use your bow! Moose are made to bowhunt!

08-Nov-15
As a bowhunter my shelf, I would not feel full if I shot one with the gun. Now that's just me. If a outfitter said that to me I would look into other outfitters. Ed

08-Nov-15
Are you already booked with the outfitter? Why is he yelling you bring a gun? Moose can and are killed every year with bows. If you are not already booked, find a new outfitter/guide that works with bowhunters.

08-Nov-15