SteveB 05-Jun-16
Stubbleduck 05-Jun-16
SteveB 06-Jun-16
Brotsky 06-Jun-16
Stubbleduck 27-Jan-19
SteveB 27-Jan-19
standswittaknife 27-Jan-19
02-Mar-16
Anyone hunted with this Manotoba bear outfitter?

02-Mar-16
Whoops....obviously that should be Manitoba....

04-Mar-16
TTT

04-Mar-16
I think the lack of responses might tell you what you need to know. I can recommend 3 outstanding Manitoba bear outfitters who are also Bowsite sponsors if you're looking for a bear hunt. I have no personal knowledge of this outfitter and it seems not many others do either and no outfitter reviews are posted. Buyer beware.

06-Mar-16
Well, I took a chance and may live to regret it. The current owner operator of "Big Woods Wilderness Outfitters" apparently just bought the outfit a year or so ago. Near as I can determine the story he tells on the website is correct in that he has a good deal of experience just not as an owner/operator. Anyhow, I had enquired about a cancellation hunt (I'm retired and can take advantage of such hunts) and got a very attractive offer. It's an easy drive from my home in Minneapolis so the additional costs beyond the outfitter are minimal. I've been in the position of a new business startup, though not in hunting operation or anything even remotely similar, so I have a certain amount of sympathy for the new guy. After trading emails and talking to the guy I took the chance and sent a deposit for the last week of May. Come the middle of June I'll publish the results.

06-Mar-16
Good luck, hope you have a fun hunt!

07-Mar-16
Good luck! Everyone had to start somewhere! Hopefully it turns out to be a great hunt! Have fun either way, there's a lot worse places to be than Manitoba in the springtime!

07-Mar-16
Brotsky...Thanks for the positive thoughts. Your comment on Manitoba is in line with my thinking. Even if the hunting isn't so great sitting in a tree in springtime is likely to be interesting.

07-Mar-16