maravia14x24 28-Apr-16
Treeline 30-Apr-16
Paul@thefort 30-Apr-16
COLO 3-D 02-May-16
EmbryOklahoma 17-May-16
EmbryOklahoma 27-Jul-16
LUNG$HOT 27-Jul-16
05-Apr-16
I have a few points and should draw my mule deer tag this year in Colorado. I'm a rookie at mule deer hunting. I've been elk hunting a number of years and know the terrain and have somewhat of a gauge on where to find mule deer and how to kill them. But... I'd like to hear from you guys that have been successful on HC mule deer. Tactics? Deer habits? How you specifically made it happen? Things you look for? Not trying to over think mule deer hunting, but more curious of what made you successful. I'm down with seeing some hero shots also. Thanks!

05-Apr-16
With opener being on the 27th, look for them high and cool. Should be an easy year this year! I'm expecting to see a lot of big bucks taken!

05-Apr-16
I'm certainly not an expert, but I've been on a few hunts in Colorado, Utah and Nevada. I agree with the advice to get up high, especially early in the season.

In my experience, the most effective strategy is to glass right away in the morning and try to find a bachelor group of bucks and watch until they bed. Then try to put a stalk on them, preferably from above.

Don't pass up a good opportunity on a bedded buck even if you don't think he's a shooter, you can usually learn something from each stalk even if you don't loose an arrow.

In the middle of the day you might be able to pick out a bedded buck hiding in the shadows, but your time might be better served resting up and planning where you want to set up and glass the next morning.

05-Apr-16
Glass em' from a distance.......watch them bed.....wait for the thermals to flow consistently up-hill......stalk in close.....make the shot.

05-Apr-16
Prepare yourself for 90% of your stalks to be blown.

Or if you're like me, 99%.

06-Apr-16