md5252 19-Apr-19
wapiti1 20-Apr-19
trophyhill 20-Apr-19
Animal Killer 27-Apr-19
wild1 27-Apr-19
Padfoot 12-May-19
Mule Power 12-May-19
20-Apr-16
I have done a lot of reading on the Tenzing 2220 and the Badlands 2200 packs and feel that I have it narrowed down to these two when the time comes to buy one. My concern is that the Tenzing does not have a meat shelf like the Badlands. Is this option a deal breaker or will I most likely have to return to camp for a pack frame or unload my pack to carry the rest of the meat from the field? I know this is a day back and not one for deep in the back country for a multiple day hunt.

If you have any advice on either pack please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks

20-Apr-16
I have had the Badlands 2200. It is a great pack for hunting and is comfortable with a lot of great features until you put weight on it. I have carried out elk quarters several times and I can say it isn't fun. I cannot comment on the Tenzing as I have no experience with it.

20-Apr-16
I have the Tenzing and am very impressed with it. I'm sure the Badlands is a great pack as well. Trying to pack out anything other than small bags of meat isn't what either was designed to do IMO. Pack frames ARE designed to pack meat, so that's what I use for that purpose..

20-Apr-16
I've had the Tenzing 2220 for 3 seasons and it's been great so far. Have thrown game bag(s) full of meat both de-boned and quartered into it to haul out but on both occasions went back in with a frame to finish the job. It's just not built for packing large quantities of meat. Didn't know anything about the Badlands until a quick google search so I can't say. I guess Boly and wyobullshooter have pretty much said the same thing!

21-Apr-16