Paul@thefort 15-May-16
deerman406 15-May-16
Yasla 16-May-16
longbeard 17-May-16
Grunt-N-Gobble 17-May-16
WV Mountaineer 17-May-16
deerman406 17-May-16
14-May-16
I posted some of this in the NY forum and decided to post here for more help. I'm in upstate NY, season opened May 1st and runs all month. We see turkeys pretty much all year long, and usually every spring. So far this year since the opener, about nothing. I drive all over and see very few birds out anyplace, i drove 20 miles of farmland Thursday morning and zero, where usually I see tons. All I have seen are lone hens out feeding in grass fields, have seen just 3-4 total. Also, I found a nest with two eggs in it April 23rd, walked up on a hen sitting on it in tall grass. I am very sure the general population is adequate (though down past few years)

I'm a novice at this, so question for the more experienced on here, any insight to this behavior, is this a lull, weather related, could mating season have been early and now just nesting? Is this much ado about nothing, and just keep at it? Looking for experience, thanks.

14-May-16

Yasla's embedded Photo
Yasla's embedded Photo
The nest i found

14-May-16
Sounds to me like survival rates of hatched poults could be affecting your hunt quality if the population is down. It is the determining factor in turkey numbers if winter don't get the adults. Many things influence survival rates but, cold May rains and, a wet June is really hard on poult populations. The rest of the variables, besides raptor depredation, is minuscule according to every biologist I've talked with about this.