XMan 18-May-16
jstephens61 18-May-16
jims 19-May-16
trail hound 19-May-16
trail hound 20-May-16
jims 21-May-16
trail hound 21-May-16
18-May-16
I discovered a lone gobbler in his strutting area this morning. He is staying in the same small field and has been there at least a couple hours now. I'm going to opt to leave him alone and try a play on him tomorrow morning. I'm curious how many of you readers would try to go after him right away. It would be a fairly easy sneak to the field edge because a creek would provide good cover right up to the field.

18-May-16
I'm no expert but I'll try to help... Does he fly from the roost right to the field he's hanging at? Or does he get there later in the morning?

18-May-16
No expert here either....Have you seen him there multiple days or just today? If he's there every day I'd vote for tomorrow. If this is the first time you've seen him, then I'd make the move on him now. Sometimes gobblers can be difficult though to call out of an open field into the woods. They like to strut out in the open so that the ladies come to them. Worth a shot though if you don't anticipate him showing in that field in the future.

18-May-16
As brot said if he's there most days id hunt him there tmrw. Get there before him and wait him out.

18-May-16
Kinda damn if you do or damned if you don't NO ONE knows I'd go now Lewis

18-May-16
Agree with trying tomorrow. If nothing else, you determine if he is using it daily if he shows tomorrow. If he pitches in the woods and walks out try setting up on his route the next day if you can't connect in the morning. Also agree calling back to cover from the field could prove difficult.

18-May-16