Jaquomo 12-Jun-17
'Ike' (Phone) 12-Jun-17
Charlie Rehor 12-Jun-17
IdyllwildArcher 12-Jun-17
longbow 13-Jun-17
Ambush 13-Jun-17
JSW 16-Jun-17
02-Jun-17
My father bought me The Total Deer Hunter Manual from Field and Stream. Is that good for Mule deer or just white tail? Or does it even matter?

02-Jun-17
Depending on the locale, mule deer and whitetail deer behave very differently.

02-Jun-17
I've been hunting Whitetails since about 1976, and Mule Deer for about the last 7 years, all DIY. I haven't read that book, but in my limited experience, you can get away with a little more with MD (movement, spooking after a missed shot) the WT.

02-Jun-17
Depends upon the pressure, if they're pressured both species wise up quickly...

02-Jun-17
Whitetails are the tougher team but Mule Deer have a greater home field advantage.

02-Jun-17
I got that book a few years ago. I remember it being very whitetail specific. I would not recommend it as a mule deer reference.

02-Jun-17
Never had a tag for a MD. So, naturally they have tried to commit suicide when I was elk hunting. And, I have been close to a couple world class MD that seemed about as sharp as a telephone pole. When I say close I mean goober range. If I can sneak up to yards of something, alertness is not it's strong suit, Seriously. Last time out, I was able to sneak with 12-13 yards of a dozen different MD bucks. One was a ear width wide 5x7. Another was a ear width wide 4x4. One was a 5x4 about 22 inches wide. So, in my very limited experience, trying to compare the alertness of the two is like saying black is white. Because the ones I've been around were plain dumb in comparison to an eastern whitetail. That goes for elk too.

Just my limited experience and, not meant to be nor, should be taken as the gospel. But, if I were looking for Mule deer hunting books, I wouldn't over shoot the goal so to speak. God Bless

02-Jun-17
One of the best books for mule deer is "Hunting Open Country Mule Deer" by Dwight Schuh.