Mathews Inc.
Mule deer hunt
Mule Deer
Contributors to this thread:
Lark Bunting 28-Aug-17
28-Aug-17

Lark Bunting's Link
I'm pretty new to hunting but shot my first doe three years ago. I haven't hunted them since but drew my archery tag this season. Opening weekend I found myself in my unit here in Colorado. I camped from the truck and set up on Friday evening. My buddy drew the same tag and met up with me Friday evening as well. I hunted Saturday and half day Sunday. Our tags are now antlered tags only, this unit used to be either sex archery. I have no idea why the CDW cut the tags in half and made it a buck only unit, there are deer everywhere! Saturday morning we bumped a doe 100 yards from camp. It was 6:05 am and we'd already seen our first deer for the day. At 7:00 we were only .34 miles back from camp and a monster, full velvet buck trotted past us while I was exploring some VERY (still steaming) elk poop. The buck caught me off guard and was at a good trot, no matter the sound I made I couldn't stop him. Oh well, bucks in the area, cool! We ran into two more doe, then another buck but the distances were too far, and the forest floor was like walking on rice crispies; every step was fricken loud! We stumbled upon a couple more deer that afternoon. By the time my buddy had to leave that afternoon we had seen three bucks and three doe. Not bad for opening day! After I got my buddy packed up I had a couple more hours to explore so I made my way behind camp and I sat in one of the two ground blinds my son and I had built earlier in the month. Nothing was happening and I'm not good at sitting still so I began slowly hunting my way back to camp via an aspen grove that runs a long ways up there. Slowly making my way up hill, staying off the narrow aspen grove about 20 yards, I had I believe a doe behind a bush blowing like crazy! I mean, this thing was blowing about every 20 seconds, LOUD! I chuckled and kept moving and as I looked uphill I saw two twin bucks, pre