Treeline 01-Dec-22
bowhunt 01-Dec-22
Mule Power 01-Dec-22
Treeline 01-Dec-22
M.Pauls 01-Dec-22
orionsbrother 01-Dec-22
Rockbass 04-Dec-22
25-Sep-17
I will start this out by saying that I do not consider myself to be much of an elk hunter.

Yes, I have shot a number of elk over many years of hunting them, usually the first legal bull (or cow) to give me a chance at my limited ability to make a good shot.

My passion, however, has always and remains to be hunting big gnarly mule deer above treeline.

This is not that story.

25-Sep-17
I'm fully engrossed in Paul's story, but I have two eyes, so bring it !

25-Sep-17
I first moved to Colorado 27 years ago with a passion for the high country and the fish and wildlife that inhabit it. I studied the hunting proclamation and figured out that there were many opportunities to pursue various species of big game in Colorado with many being over the counter tags and others requiring application and possibly several years of waiting for "premium hunting" opportunities.

I started applying for every big game species that Colorado would let me apply for within a couple of years of moving to the state.

I set my sights on drawing quality hunts for many of those species at some time in my future and was very diligent in making my annual donations. Over the years, I have been blessed with many amazing opportunities in many different areas for most of the fabulous species in this state - bighorn sheep, mountain goat, pronghorn, mule deer, whitetail deer, elk, etc.

When I started applying, I think the highest point requirement in the entire state for elk was somewhere around 6 points. That did not seem to be that far away and, being young, I though that it would be cool to work on getting one of those great tags and possibly a couple of those better tags - while hunting OTC and learning how to hunt the various species in the years that I didn't draw.