Treeline 16-Oct-17
Kurt 16-Oct-17
Bigjay73 16-Oct-17
Ermine 16-Oct-17
Paul@thefort 16-Oct-17
LUNG$HOT 16-Oct-17
StickFlicker 16-Oct-17
15-Oct-17
Hey guys, planning on a Jan mule deer rut hunt in AZ. This is going to be a totally new experience for me as far as winter time in AZ so I have no idea what to expect as far as weather, deer movement, pressure etc... What are your experiences with unit 27? Do you recommend a different unit? When does the rut usually really kick in? Earlier in the month or later (I’m sure it varies)? I’ve done as much internet research as possible reading forums, looking at maps calling the local game wardens etc... but not a ton of info out there and no time to physically scout before I go. Any help, tips etc... through PM. would be greatly appreciated. I can share my specific target area with anyone who has experience in the area through PM for a simple yes or no also. Thanks in advance.

15-Oct-17
I'm not an expert on that area, but I'd be reasonably sure the rut is probably in about late November, not January, for mule deer in the further northern higher elevation areas of Arizona. Coues deer will be in late December, to mid-January, but I don't think mule deer will be.

16-Oct-17
Stick, I definitely thought the same thing. It sounded weird to me the rut was in late December early January but all of the research I’ve done says that it is. You can even look on the Arizona F&G website and they talk about the mule deer Rut in January. Maybe I am being duped! LOL. Anyone out there, feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. Would love to hear some input from some guys who have actually hunted AZ in January

16-Oct-17
Desert mule deer and Coues rut in late December thru January in southern AZ and NM.

16-Oct-17
The northern AZ mule deer (above the rim) are earlier.

16-Oct-17